Let the tapering begin

I’m a couple of glasses of wine down, so I’ll keep this brief…

20120325-211200.jpg

Today I ran 22 miles, which means that with four weeks to go until the marathon I am now officially tapering!

It was tough. The first 2 miles were just plain hard. I had to stop to stretch things out a few times, but I settled into a rhythm and my legs held it together really well. I went out a bit slower than marathon pace, which meant that I finished strong and with a smile!

20120325-211706.jpg

Could I have run another 4 miles? I’d like to think so! And I think I learned a few things on that run. One of which is to WEAR SUNSCREEN! I’m sporting some red shoulders and interesting tan lines right now.

20120325-212102.jpg

I’m a happy, exhausted girl.

About Holly Callaghan

Lazy girl turned marathon runner, chasing sub-4!
This entry was posted in Running, Tapering, Training, Virgin London Marathon. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Let the tapering begin

  1. Well done! You’re doing brilliantly – much better than me!

Leave a comment