Uneventful

I have my fingers crossed and I’m touching wood… but I feel like I can now whisper it… marathon training has started! After a dubious start to training I am finally back in my stride, and the past two weeks have gone pretty well. I’ve managed five runs a week and I’ve stuck to my schedule, even through the UK’s snowpocalypse.

I didn't let the snow stop me...

I didn’t let the snow stop me…

To be honest, running has felt really hard and I’ve been feeling pretty slow and unfit. This is only to be expected after the over-indulgence of Christmas, and I’m used to feeling crappy going into a training plan. But I know that in a few weeks the tempo session that killed me last week won’t feel quite so bad anymore. It takes around 2 or 3 weeks for my body to adapt to the toughness of specific sessions, so I’m getting there!

Of course, at any time injury is only around the corner. I’ve learnt from last year’s mistakes – I’m doing strength training at least once a week, and stretching like a woman possessed.

All in all the last few weeks have been pretty uneventful on the running front. Which is exactly what I want!

About Holly Callaghan

Lazy girl turned marathon runner, chasing sub-4!
This entry was posted in Running, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment